The New Testament

I just finished reading Jude in the NT.   Which means, since November, I’ve read all of the New Testament, except Revelations and the 4 Gospels.   I’m skipping Revelations because the summary starts out with “This complex book…”.  Not that I’m scared of the complex, but I’m afraid I’ll stall out if I have to read something harder to understand.   Which brings me to Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.  I’ve put off the 4 Gospels until now, I’m not sure why.  Partly because the content is, maybe “too familar”, if that makes sense.  and maybe partly because it confuses me.  Can anyone else relate to this?  Do I make it harder than it should be?

 For example, in Matthew 5:18-19 it says that “not even the smallest detail of God’s law will disappear…so if you ignore the least commandment and teach others to do the same, you will be called the least in the Kingdom of Heaven.”  Then in verse 34, Matthew says “do not make any vows!”, Just a simple Yes or No will do.  Anything beyond this is from the evil one.”    So, we can never say “I promise”?  That’s from the evil one?

This is just a small example.  I think I tend to over analyze it, but at the same time, I don’t want to have to read between the lines when I read the bible to understand the true meaning behind God’s words.   I should be able to take them at face value, not have to figure out the meaning–because if left open to interpretation, I could interpret it wrong. 

 OK, so I’ll just keep plugging away through Matthew–praying as I read for the Holy Spirit to answer all of my questions and speak truth to my heart.   Anybody else have trouble with this, or am I weird?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by edge on March 12, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I think whats great about the Bible is that you can read 1 verse at different stages of your life and it will speak to you differently because of where you are at your life. Applying it each time to what your going through and the Truth still comes out strong. Follow? Thats why the Bible has always stayed the same and still moves through peoples lives and still speaks truth. Thats my 2 cents….

  2. […] April 6, 2008 Filed under: Bible stuff — carikelley @ 10:19 pm So, on March 11, I talked about reading through the New Testament and coming back to the Gospels.  I started on Matthew, and today […]

Leave a Reply

