Quote of the Day

I think we ought to read only books that bite and sting us. If the book we are reading doesn’t shake us awake like a blow on the skull, why bother reading it in the first place? . . . A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us.      Franz Kafka

I can’t say that I entirely agree with Kafka.  There is such a thing as reading for enjoyment and entertainment.  But, there is value to reading things that challenge our thinking.   Even if I don’t agree, I like to read things that make me think about something in a whole new way.  I’m always dying for a book that is “the axe for the frozen sea within me”.  Something that shakes me awake.   I love the way Donald Miller and Angela Thomas think and write.  Each takes the ordinary and familiar and turns it over to look at it in a whole new way.  I’m not usually one to do this on my own without outside inspiration–so I look for outside inspiration alot. 

It’s the same reason I read blogs.  I even read blogs I don’t entirely understand–just looking for inspiration.  Trying to see things in a new light.

Speaking of which, I’m off to read an “assigned book” that hopefully will turn out to be another “axe”.  Fusion.

Leave a Reply

