The Danger of Comparison

Do you ever compare yourself to others?  How often do you come up short?  Is it ever helpful to compare?  maybe if you’re comparing yourself to yourself?

These are questions I’ve been wrestling with this week.  

Surely I’m mature enough and old enough to know better than to do this nonsense.  After all, I know who I am in Christ.  I know I’m loved and accepted by the one who made me and knows me best.  I’m content with my life choices.  I know that just because someone maybe smarter, or prettier, or more accomplished than me, doesn’t me they are happier or more satisfied with their life. 

I worry sometimes that my kids aren’t involved in enough outside activities.  They should play sports, or dance, or learn musical instruments,  or  something–but, then I think about the time we have to spend together as a family…it is so limited and it goes so unbelievably fast.  If I can build for them a firm foundation in Christ, all the rest can come later.  They will build on that foundation and be all that God designed them to be.    So, we will invest our time together, not in “becoming more rounded”. 

But maybe it’s just human nature to compare, so I’ll compare myself to myself.  Myself now to myself BC (before Christ).   That’s a whole ‘nother post, but let’s just say that I’ve come a long way.   I’m not finished yet, but I’ve come a long way.   So, I will ‘strain toward what’s ahead…to win the prize’ (Phil 3:14).    Comparing myself only to myself.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sheena on March 30, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Man, do I struggle with this too! I try not to, but maybe it’s a woman thing or something. 🙂 I am constantly comparing myself to: other wives, other mothers, other nurses, etc… I just want to be the best (is that too much to ask?!?) This is something I should definitely work on.

  2. Is this why reality TV is so popular?

  3. I like the thought….

    I will compare myself yesterday to myself today… it’s a daily development

Leave a Reply

