Matthew

So, on March 11, I talked about reading through the New Testament and coming back to the Gospels.  I started on Matthew, and today I finished.  Yes, it took me almost a month.   But, that’s ok, it’s not a race.  I have done tons of Bible Studies, and read bible passages and verses, but I’ve never really just read the bible, whole books at a time.  It’s interesting how it seems so different.  I catch little things that I’ve never heard before.  Context I didn’t understand before.  I would definitely recommend it. 😉

For example, I came across this jaw dropper tonight…Matthew 27:52…talking about the moment that Jesus died.

The earth shook, rocks split apart, and tombs opened. The bodies of many godly men and women who had died were raised from the dead.  They left the cemetery after Jesus’ resurrection, went into the holy city of Jerusalem, and appeared to many people.

I know that I’ve never heard that before!  Many godly men and women were raised from the dead and walked around Jerusalem!  Freaky…

I wish that Matthew would have explained what they did when they “appeared to many people”.  Or, why?  I’m sure there was a reason–there is no such thing as a random resurrection.  How many?  Were they recognized as dead people?  Did they carry a special message about Jesus’ resurrection?   So many questions, but God chose not to give many details here.  I can’t imagine why, but He knows way more than I do, so I’ll have to trust Him on this one.

Well, on to Mark!

One response to this post.

  1. Good stuff…Thought provoking…Imagine dead people walking around, The EARTH shaking (not just a little earthquake) I wonder what it was like at that time? Would be cool to see that!

Leave a Reply

