My missing post

How mysterious.  I lost a post.  I typed it, then saved it, then it was gone.  Hmmm…it’s all for the best though.  There was some negativity in it 😉   Actually, more than a little bit.  Let’s just say I had a rough night and needed to rant.  I’m done.  It was nothing that a handful of Twizzlers and a really loud clap of thunder couldn’t fix. 😉

Tonight I got to be a part of something big.  Actually, it’s my honor to be a part of it every week.  I get to be a part of an amazing group of leaders at SWITCH, LC’s youth ministry.  Every Wednesday, usually after a full day of work, we band together for the kids.  If we weren’t there, they couldn’t have their Experience.   It just wouldn’t happen.   So, we show up, giving those kids a little love, a little taste of Jesus, and a safe place to hang out.  And they are always so appreciative!  <–note the heavy sarcastic tone

The thing to remember is that the results are not up to us.  We may never see the “fruits of our labor”, so to speak.   But, we’re kidding ourselves if we think that every encounter with a student (be it negative or positive), doesn’t matter to that student.  

I’m just glad to be able to be there for my teenager.  To model sacrifice and love to him.  To show him I care about what matters to him.   I hopefully, and most importantly,  point him to Christ.

Lord, help me keep at it.  Give me the blind hope to serve another week.  I know He will.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by edge on April 10, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Thanks to everyone who gives up there time to help a generation of lost kids, youth, adults and show them Jesus through there actions and not there words. Awesome to be apart of a Church that does just that.

  2. CariKelley, you inspire me! I’m feeling a little disconnected with GOD lately but you make me want to seek harder. I miss you friend.

Leave a Reply

