Expectations…

They shape us.  They shape the way we respond.  Sometimes if your expectations are low, you can be pleasantly surprised.  Unfortunately, I don’t usually have this problem.   My expectations are often unrealistically high.  Which leads, of course, to unmet expectations.  Which leads to feelings of anger, frustration, and disappointment.   Usually at my husband or my kids.   Does control, or lack thereof, play into it? 

So, how do I adjust my expectations without “selling short”?  

What did Jesus expect from his disciples?  At the very least, he expected them to believe him…and often they didn’t even do that.   Did he get angry?  Yeah, sometimes.  Hmm…

No answers today, just questions.

 

Leave a Reply

