Why the heck is that in the Bible?

After Jesus is arrested, the bible says that all his disciples deserted him and ran away.  In fear, probably.  Instead of breaking this down and applying it to my life, I want to look at verse 51 and 52 of Mark, chapter 14. It says

One young man following behind was clothed only in a long linen shirt.  When the mob tried to grab him, he slipped out of his shirt and ran away naked.

Why mention this, Mark?  I believe that every word in the bible is God breathed.  and I trust that it is translated as accurately into English as possible.   But, sometimes I have to wonder…why the heck is that in the bible?  What does it mean?  Who was this ‘young man’?   He ran away naked, for Pete’s sake!   Stripped of his clothes and his sense, no doubt.

Good thing I’m not one of those intellectual types that insists on answers to everything, because so often, I just don’t have ’em!

Leave a Reply

