Habakkuk, part 1

Alright, I’m getting a jump start on this weekend.  The new message series at LC is called Habukkuk, why God doesn’t seem fair sometimes.  So, I thought I’d read Habukkuk, all 3 chapters of it, before this weekend.  Actually, I read most of it in one night.  I loved what my bible said in the intro summary of the chapter. 

Habukkuk was troubled by the evil and sin he saw.  God answered Habukkuk’s perplexity and gave him far more than he asked for–a vision of God himself.

Cool. 

Habukkuk’s new insight into the being of God and his own inadequacy gave him the courage to live through those dark days with determination and strength.

Do you ever feel like you need something to help you press on, despite the darkness that surrounds us?  When I dwell on it, which thankfully isn’t often, I find myself begging Jesus to come back quickly.   Sometimes the sin of this world seems so overwhelming, so hopeless to change.   I wouldn’t blame God if he wanted to wipe the slate clean and start over. 

What I need is a vision of God himself to give me the determination and strength to live.  and the faith to believe that God knows what he’s doing.  More on Habukkuk later.  SOon.

Leave a Reply

