Just keep asking

Twice in Luke, Jesus says that if you keep asking for something, God will eventually give in. 

Luke 11: 8 “if you keep knocking long enough, he (your neighbor) will get up and give you whatever you need because of your shameless persistence”  v9 says “and so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will recieve what you are asking for.”

and Luke 18: 3-6ish  The Persistent Widow came repeatedly to the judge and the judge says “this woman is driving me crazy, she’s wearing me out with her constant requests” and he gave her the justice she was asking for.  v6 says “don’t you think God will surely give justice to the chosen people who cry out day and night?  How many will he find that have faith?”

So, I ask, is faith asking for something once and believing that God heard you, or continually asking for the same thing.   

I know that there are things (lots of things) that I need to bring continually before the Lord, but…but, I don’t…I grow tired of asking the same thing over and over.  I scold my kids for doing this.   Truth is, I need to work on my perserverence.  Isn’t there a verse that says that something develops perserverence?  I need to look that up.

One response to this post.

  1. You are so right I am right there with you

Leave a Reply

