Give Me Your Eyes

This song by Brandon Heath is my current favorite and I’m literally Praying it when I listen.  Here’s an excerpt:

Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the brokenhearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me your heart for the one’s forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see

So often I get caught up in myself–(and can become “discombobulated”!).  The only way out is to cling to something bigger than me.  God is definitely bigger than me.  This song starts out with a big picture look at the world —the familiar shock of confusion and chaos, all those people going somewhere, why have I never cared?

Why?  Because I don’t look at people through God’s eyes.  To see the insecurity, fear, pain–how would we treat people if we could look at them all the time through His eyes…

I noticed I keep switching pronouns–I/we.  It’s because I own this, this is me at times, but I know I’m not alone.

Lord, give us your eyes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. good song and good meaning

  2. Posted by Christy on November 18, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Hi Cari, A couple of things: Cindi sent me your blog to see if I remembered that car since I am the family historian, but I don’t. Maybe I’m fading. It’s so funny that Cameron is a baker because Kasey LOVES to bake and she’s the tallest in her class, so should I call her stretch? This is also Kasey’s favorite song ever and Brandon Heath’s coming to Denver in a few weeks, but I’m sure we won’t be able to go. Anyway, talk to you soon. Christy

Leave a Reply

