The value of eating out!

Ok, so I don’t love to cook.  It’s a family priority of ours to eat dinner together.  But, usually, someone in my family doesn’t like what we’re having…I have a picky bunch.  So, we eat out sometimes, I’ll admit.  But, Kevin pointed out to me one time that our quality of family time increases significantly when we’re out–away from home, away from the familiar.  Forced to sit at a table together (even after we’re finished eating, because where are you gonna go?).

Gina’s post about McD’s got me thinking.  Even if it’s just McDonalds, I need to stop feeling guilty about the money spent, or the junk they’re eating.  If the quality of time is good, that’s  worth it.  I guess that would be storing up treasure in heaven.  🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Now I am really going to find it hard not to eat out with this kind of justification

  2. Posted by AD on August 21, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Absolutely LOVE the thought and I agree almost completely. The problem is I feel so passionately about not eating fast food (like McD’s) that I’d urge you to splurge just a little more for actual nourishment to go along with your family time. I’m very proud to say my family hasn’t eaten McD’s is almost 2 years (save maybe a roadside emergency in Albuquerque, NM, but we avoid it as much as possible, and by “it” I mean Albuquerque). Save yourself for In and Out at least!!

Leave a Reply

