Nobody said it was going to be easy

Oh my gosh, I have a teenager.  This reality is hitting me more and more lately.  Cory’s 14.  The other day I noticed his Adam’s apple protruding a bit more than before.  He has some little blemishes on his face.  His voice is getting even deeper.  He’s as tall as me.  Oh, my.  In a flash, he’ll be driving, graduating high school, choosing a career path, maybe college.  He’ll want to have a girlfriend.  and so much more.

He’s desperately trying to stretch his wings of independence.  I am desperately trying to keep him close and safe.  I hear frequently about some kid that has a freak accident doing something silly…diving in a backyard pool, hit by a car doing the Chinese fire drill, walking down the street, riding a scooter, or whatever.   All of these stories make me want to protect him and tell him “no” when he wants to walk to McDonalds or 7-11, or go jogging with his friends.  But, I know I have to let go.  I see the growth in him when I trust him enough to let him go.  I’m so proud of the man he’s becoming.

So, for now,  the fear I have for his safety, is being decidedly handed over to the Lord.  It will drive me to be a passionate prayer warrior on his behalf.  Anyway, I’ve been looking for a way to make praying for my kids a consistent routine.  I guess this’ll do.

One response to this post.

  1. I am not far away from this day. Not looking forward to it

Leave a Reply

