Bow down with eyes wide open

Numbers 22-24 introduce us to Balaam.  You know, the guy with the talking donkey.  He was some kind of wise man, or prophet I guess.  Someone that was sent for to get a word from God on what they (the Israelites) were supposed to do next–at this point, they are wandering in the wilderness, just outside of the promised land.

When they asked him for a blessing, he repeated over and over again: “I have no power to do anything against the will of God”, and “I have no power to say what I want–only the message that God puts in my mouth”.

In chapter 24, verse 4, Balaam is described as:

“one whose eyes see clearly”

“one who hears the words of God”

“one who sees a vision from the Almighty”

and my favorite…

“one who bows down with eyes wide open”

What does that mean exactly?  Bows down with eyes wide open…  Is it to be completely aware of who you are worshipping?  I’m picturing it in my mind right now–a man bowing down to God, not with his eyes closed in reverence, but wide open.

Am I making a mountain out of a molehill?  Give me some feedback, people!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I take it that he is already so reverent to God that closing his eyes to show reverence would be pointless.

  2. Posted by vettechdave on February 1, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Well friend of a friend but I too like this comment. I take it to mean a few possable ideas. One of course being metiphorical in nature, bowing himself is the act of humilty to God and respect for his relation to Him. His eyes beign wide open is the stark knowledge that truth was coming because he was asking. Sort of a foreshadow to “Ask and ye shall recieve”. His eyes are open to say that he was fully aware that God was there and he ‘saw clearly’ or ‘undestood’ that he would recieve an answer. That is faith in action I feel. But, it was for him not us, for we all show our faith in our way and what is a powerful thing for one, is silly to another. In the end, our relationship with God, no matter how much we talk about it, will always be a very personal thing.

Leave a Reply

