The only light in a dark world

I saw a movie today, The City of Ember, because I loved the book.   I don’t know about you, but I always prefer the book over the movie if I’ve read it first, but I see the movie anyway–don’t know why.  Anyway, it’s still a good movie, and there is a line at the beginning of the movie, describing the city as “the only light in a dark world“.  Oh, that was a good line.  Let me repeat it.  Please?

The only light in a dark world.

Deeper/double meaning for me.  Jesus is the only light in a dark world.

In these times of uncertainty, war, and hate, the world seems like a dark place if you look too long at it.  So many lost, so much pain, loss, disappointment, fear.  Like a deep black hole, ready to cave in on itself.   But, Jesus…He is the only light in a dark world.

Forgive me for the “dark” post. I’m feeling melancholy.

Read the book, or see the movie if you don’t want to read…either way, good story.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Cari! Thanks for leaving a note on my blog. There aren’t many of us that spell our name like we do. Yes, I’m married to Mark and he’s loving working at Lifechurch. I agree with you that I usually like the books best, but watch the movies anyway. Just watched The Nanny Diaries last night and it wasn’t anything like the book.

  2. Cari,

    I am always looking for a great book to read!
    On many days it is hard for us to “look up” and not around us. The world can be a very dark place at times, but we always can feel safe that Jesus is with us. Always remember to look up and the Son will come out!

    One of my favorite verses is this –
    In Him was life, and that life was the light of men.
    John 1:4

    Love ya girl,
    Shelly

  3. […] to the famed Warren Theatre in Moore, OK to see The City of Ember, which I already blogged about here. The kids had a good time, and so did the adults.  Grand total for this […]

Leave a Reply

