Hangin’ with the Israelites

Much of the early Old Testament is spent hanging out with the scraggly bunch of Israelites.   In my estimation, they were a violent bunch to say the least.  I still can’t get over some of the mass killings.  Story after story of people killing each other–sometimes wiping out entire villages or entire families at a time.

One story in I Sam 18 has Saul naming the bride price for one of his daughters to David at 100 Philistine foreskins!  David however went out and killed 200 Philistines instead (cause he had some awesome warrior skills) and presented their foreskins to Saul.  Can you see where I’m going with this?  Do you think the way I do?  For your sake, I hope not. 🙂

Ok, maybe I waaaayyy over think this stuff, but I’m imagining the ‘harvesting’ of said foreskins.  Were the men already dead?  Were they wearing skirt-like things like in bible “pictures” or did they have pants on?  Did they have zippers?  underwear?    Was it a pretty quick procedure?  anyway, I could go on all day, but you get the idea…

Gotta go, David is about to wipe out some Amalekites.

One response to this post.

  1. I dont think I felt this uncomfortable reading this blog……to much talk about “business”….”blech”

Leave a Reply

