A Blast from the Past

Strolling down memory lane…first stop, 1987.  My freshman year at the University of Oklahoma, I tried out for the color guard of THE Pride of Oklahoma and made it!  What an honor!  I was soooo excited to be a part of what I considered the best marching band in the country.  Having spent the last 4 years at Western Heights High School in the Jet Marching Band under Mr. Pennington and Martha something (don’t remember her last name), I wanted this bad!  Here’s me in my uniform–short skirt, go-go boots and all.cari-band-2

Weekly weigh-ins (yes, we had weight requirements to meet or we didn’t march that weekend), 2 bowl trips to Florida, 2 trips to the Cotton Bowl, grueling practices, the exciting rush of Pre-Game Show…these are the things I remember most about this time in my life.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindi on November 6, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Her name was Martha Walker and Dailey after she got married – don’t ask me how I remember that.

  2. We hope that next year you’ll join us in the OU Band Alumni Association and march on the field at Homecoming 2009! We’d welcome you back! More details and ongoing Pride news available at http://oubandalumni.org .

  3. Thank you! Thank you! That’s all I have to say

  4. I had no idea! You are so awesome.

Leave a Reply

