I’m Stronger today than I was yesterday

What I’ve learned through books, experience, and a kinesiology class in college is that building muscles/getting stronger always involves several things.

  • pushing yourself farther than you want to go
  • pain (to say that I’m sore after bootcamp on Monday mornings would be a gross understatement)
  • eating the right things, avoid the wrong things
  • pain (did I already mention that?)
  • reaching past your comfort level to do more than you’ve done before

You can exercise and not push yourself very hard (you know, just do what’s comfortable and stop when you get tired), but you probably won’t get a whole lot stronger–at least not very fast.

So, here’s where I’m going with this.  I’ve spent a lot of energy and time “gettin’ heathly” lately.  I’m still obsessing and logging every single thing I eat in FitDay.com…although I did eat a bowl of cereal last night that I didn’t record–however, I just mentioned it here, so I guess that counts…anyway,  since a girls self-image is usually sooo wrapped up in how she looks, I want to “Get Healthy” on the inside too.  So, I’m also working on strengthening my spiritual muscles.

To get spiritually stronger and more mature, i.e. know and love God more intimately, I must do all of those same things mentioned above.  Push myself past the point of comfort. Consume the right things (and avoid unhealthy things).  Feel pain.

I’m reading (and LOVING) the Old Testament right now~~I know I’ve mentioned that.  Avoiding TV.  I know that not everything on TV is bad.  I really don’t want to be a freak about this, but there are just certain things on tv that I have to avoid during this time. (I’ll post on this in detail some other time)  There is also a tough conversation that I need to have and soon.  That’s the pushing past my comfort zone part.  I hate conflict and avoid it if at all possible. But it needs to be done.  I know I’ll never get stronger if I allow things to stay the same.  God is pushing me farther than I want to go for His glory and because He loves me more than I can even fathom.  But right now, all I’m feeling is the pain.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ToniQue on November 21, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Praying for you and knowing that on the other side of this pain is unimaginable joy in Christ. Each “mark” you sustain makes you more like Him.

  2. ugh. no pain. not for you carikelley.

Leave a Reply

