So, did I finish?

I know that’s the question that all who faithfully read my blog (all 2 of you according to my dashboard blog stats!) have on their minds this morning.  Did I finish reading the Old Testament by the end of 2008?

Sorry to say, no, I didn’t.  I’m still a little over 100 pages away from finishing.  Did you know that the books of Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel are really long?  But make no mistake, they are  really good!

I’ve been praying for God to give me a intense hunger for His Word.   And, boy has he answered that prayer in the affirmative.  I must say, be careful what you pray for.  I can’t get enough.    I want to consume all of it at the same time immediately.  All of it.  The words in Jeremiah 15:16 speak it best:

When I discovered your words, I devoured them.   They are my joy and my heart’s delight, for I bear your name, O Lord.

Right now I could literally spend hours at a time drinking in the words of my bible.  Luckily, this is working out well with my current TV/Movie fast that I started back in October.  Cutting that nonsense out of my daily schedule has freed up hours/week.   I must admit this was extremely hard to give up at first, and even now I miss some of my favorite shows.  But, I’m busy–there just aren’t enough hours in the day  Can’t anybody relate!?

But what I’ve found is that what I’ve gained by giving that up is infinitely more valuable than what I’ve lost.    My heart breaks for the people of  Jerusalem and Judah (and everyone today) who’ve turned away from the God that rescued them.   They “exchanged their glorious God for worthless idols!” Jer 2:11    My heart rejoices b/c  “O Lord, if you save me, I will be truly saved, My praises are for you alone!” Jer 17:14

Sharp-as-a-tack JC said to focus on the goal rather that the plan of action. Don’t just make a New Years Resolution to read the bible more, or read it in a year, or whatever.  But make your goal to know God better—then pray for help, and let Him lead you to that.  He’ll do what you can’t.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindi on January 12, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    That’s so great! I guess it is all worth missing a few episodes of The Office.
    The fast ends Jan 20th though, right?

    p.s. I love that pic of Cami.

  2. Posted by ToniQue on January 13, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    It’s not the end…but the journey that matters.

  3. Posted by christyd4 on January 15, 2009 at 9:16 am

    So I took your advice and am praying every day for focus, discipline and a hunger for His word and I’m only on day 14 of my bible in a year, but sometimes I don’t want to stop at just one day. Of course I’m on the easy part, once I get to Job it gets a little confusing, but I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

