Old Habits Die Hard–or Must They Be Killed?

You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it. Margaret  Thatcher

I know that God has already won the victory, but there are certain battles I’m still fighting.

For example, how many times do I eat healthy, exercise regularly, convincing myself that these are life changes and then go back to my old habits.  Or…

How many times have I drawn closer to God, promised to read my bible and pray everyday, only to “fail” and drift away from God again–trying to do life on my own—miserable.

The words of Margaret Thatcher give me comfort–not that I’m using her words as an excuse, but at least it makes me realize that some battles are harder to conquer than others.

I also take comfort in Psalm 116:

I love the Lord for He heard my voice, he listened to my cry for mercy.  Because He turned His ear to me, I will call on Him as long as I live.

It’s because God loves me and responded to me that I will call on Him for as long as I live.  Not because I win every battle with laziness and sin.    Now if I could just stop beating myself up for every pan of brownies I eat!

Leave a Reply

