Spend Nothing-Part 2

Ok, so it’s not a hair-brained scheme.  I think it’s just plain old common sense.  Being frugal.  Tight.  Daring to be different.  Spitting in the face of consumerism. Whatever you wanna call it.

Already a problem…2, in fact.  It’s a birthday month for the Kelley house.  The youngest darling turns 12!  Oh, my.  She wants to go ice skating with a friend for her birthday.  That’ll be $15-20 easy.  Cookie cake–which, by the way, she always creates the design and the lovely people at Eileen’s Colossal Cookie make it perfect every time!–$10.  Birthday gift, traditional birthday balloon, etc…$??

and problem #2…the spouse doesn’t get it/is not into it/wants to modify it/whatever you wanna call it.  So, I’ll just do what I can.

I’ve been averaging some numbers, thanks to some handy features on Discover.com and Quicken.  By the way, guess who gets the biggest chunk of our money (after the mortgage)??  You guessed it!  Walmart!  uggg…consumerism is alive and well, and it’s born and raised at Walmart.  I feel like such a mindless robot. shop. shop.shop.

But, it’s where we get most of our groceries (except milk which we get at Braums) and all of our spending cash (we use our Discover card to get cash back from Walmart–and get cash back on the card–get it?–seems to make sense to us), so I guess that makes sense that Walmart gets so much business from us.

My plan is to take what we normally spend per week (averaged) and cut that in half.  well, maybe two-thirds…what’s practical?  Can we eat mac and cheese  3 days a week?

Still working on exact numbers to aim for.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on February 1, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Well I went to Sam’s today after not going for all of January because that’s our lean month, and I have to say I’m not spending anymore money on groceries in Feb! Except maybe milk because we’ll need that again. As much as I spent I can’t imagine that we’d ever need to go back, EVER. Sign me up for no spending in Feb!! OH, and I took the girls to JCPenney today because they had gift cards, and everyone stayed within their spending so I spent nothing of my own. I love that!

Leave a Reply

