No spend challege-week 3

I’ve been a real blog-slacker this week and last.  I’m not sure if I’ve just been too busy, or uninspired, or maybe a little of both.  Anyhow, down to business.  This week was much easier to spend less.

We eat pizza at least once a week (we’d have it every day if it were up to the teen) so this has been hard.  I mean, there’s only so many ways to make homemade pizza, and it’s NEVER as yummy as the pizzeria kind.  But, I’ve made crust in the bread machine, and we’ve used English muffins and flatbread, and the refrigerator rolled dough–just for a little variety–you know, so it seems FUN, and not just like you’re missing out on the good stuff.

Also, Cam and I made homemade cinnamon rolls last weekend.  That was fun and the kids thought it was a special treat.  They didn’t need to know that it was much cheaper than any other pre-made sweet breakfast treat!

2/14 Sat. Lowes $28 and $36 flowering plant for vday from Kev (awww, so sweet!)

2/15 Sun $8.06 Braums

2/16 Mon $0

2/17 Tues $30 guitar lessons

2/18 Wed $0

2/19 Thurs $0

2/20 Fri $9.43 Braum’s, $134.90 Walmart *ouch*

Total so far this month $535.77.  Wow, that seems like a LOT especially since I’m not even counting gas for the cars!  To be honest, I’m a little disappointed.  It really seemed like we weren’t spending much at all.  Hmmm…

Sometimes I think it would be more fun ( or at least more gratifying) to detail what I did NOT spend….to list all the times I said no to what I wanted to buy.  The 1/2 gallon of ice cream at Braum’s when I was grabbing milk, the Sonic drinks, the Panda Express dinner out with friends, the Taco Bell that I drove by…the list goes on and on.

And I’m still contemplating on what to do with the “extra” money that we didn’t spend this money.  Give or Save?  A little of both?  I’m praying and have asked everyone else in the family to pray about it.  So we’ll see!

One response to this post.

  1. Well I’m proud of you for making such a detailed effort Cari. I’ve NEVER been good at this and in fact, I recently forgot my bank password(in some Nutrasweet memory moment)and now I feel terribly uneasy about what’s going on in my account. It takes very little to defeat myself in the finance department. I just usually try not to leave the house so that my debit card stays away from harm. That of course works but then the cabin fever crazies set in.

Leave a Reply

