Satan’s not stoopid

Satan is not stupid…he’s evil, but not dumb.  When he tempts us (not if, but when) he knows where we’re weak.  I don’t believe he can read our thoughts, but he can certainly watch our actions.  He sees our weaknesses and does not hesitate to exploit them.

Beth Moore says it like this:

Satan never wastes a fiery dart by aiming at a spot covered by armor.  The bull’s-eye is located dead center in our inconsistency.  That’s where the enemy plans to bring us down.

Victory over sin and temptation in this world is NEVER accidental or coincidental.  It comes from careful strategic planning and CONSISTENCY!  Therefore, I must RESOLVE to avoid areas I know I’m weak.  I’ll give 2 examples–I have others–but I’m not writing a book today.

  • Avoiding movies and TV shows that focus on relationships (which is pretty much all of them) is a must for me.  I’m not going to dive into the reasons why, b/c I already have done that here and even as far back as here.   Except LOST (I make that one exception for better or for worse).–I know, I know, that flies in the face of “consistency”.
  • Also, I avoid catalogs and sales fliers and all other marketing attempts to make me think I need or want something.  Avoiding TV also helps me avoid commercials–bonus!   And I despise shopping, so that keeps me out of the dangerous mall.  But, I–like the rest of Western Culture–enjoy stuff that makes me comfortable, pretty, convenienced, etc., and I can very easily get “tricked” into thinking that I need that really cool trickling fountain for my bedroom that’s currently 40% off!  oh, yeah, I get sucked in easy.

A break in resolve in the tough areas of your life, will give Satan a foothold.  So consistency is necessary to protect yourself from those fiery darts.

Leave a Reply

