Make the ground shake!

First, let me set the stage.  The Israelite army is at war with the Philistines and they are losing.  War was common, those days.  They wonder why they aren’t winning and decide they need to bring the presence of God into the picture to see if that changes anything.

“Let’s bring the Ark of the Covenant of the Lord from Shiloh. If we carry it into battle with us, it will save us from our enemies.”

When all the Israelites saw the Ark of the Covenant of the Lord coming into the camp, their shout of joy was so loud it made the ground shake!”  I Sam 4:5

Did they start winning after that?  You’ll have to read for yourself.  The point I want to make here,  is their shout of joy.  God’s people were so happy to see the Ark.  That really is a HUGE understatement, isn’t it?  “Their shout of joy was so loud it made the ground shake!”  Can you imagine that?  I’m picturing a field or a camp full of warriors who fully understand the power of the presence of God, and are overwhelmed by it.  The only thing I’ve ever seen that comes close is being at Owen Field when the Sooner Football team enters the field or scores a touchdown.  or maybe at a concert  like Britney Spears The Rolling Stones when they come out on stage. (I’m just assuming here, b/c I’ve not been to a Stones concert.)

I wanna live like that, and along side people like those warriors on the field that day.  It’s one thing to be standing by yourself and shout for joy at the presence of God, but to be in a crowd that can make that kind of noise…it’s like pouring gasoline on a fire!   That’s one thing I love about my church–you don’t have to look far to find people on fire in the name of Christ.

So, who’s with me?  Who wants to help me make the ground shake with a shout of joy?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on March 6, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I’m so mad at the Israelites right now I can’t stand it. They’re such whiners. All they’ve seen God do, and they’re whining about not having any meat to eat. They just sent scouts to the “land of milk and honey” and they’re whining about how there’s no way they can win the battle. God’s so mad at them he sent them to the wilderness for 40 years. I hope he doesn’t do that with me.

    I’m glad they get to a part where they’re shouting for joy, I want to live like that too.

  2. Posted by Cindi on March 6, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I love that your blog is so spiritual just like you. I like this post, what is it that keeps up from having that kind of enthusiam about knowing Jesus everyday? Wish we didn’t let the world get in the way of that.

  3. Hi other Cari. I enjoyed this post. It’s interesting how we can get so excited about things like football or music that we scream until the ground shakes. But God? Not so much. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Crazy stuff. I just love that just by there Sheer joy and Love they MADE THE GROUND SHAKE! It shows the power of God that lives within us that we dont take DAILY advantage of. Use his power and be his mouthpiece!

    Good stuff girl!

Leave a Reply

