Sorry department store, Jesus has my checkbook

During our first 10 years of marriage, Kevin and I bought cars, bought a house, furnished a house, had 2 kids, and went on some great vacations.  We did it all.  If we wanted it, we got it or did it.  If we didn’t have the money at the moment, we did what everyone else did…we charged it. Right?!

Sure, we had nice stuff.  A nice house, cars that ran, great memories from trips…but we also had stress, pain and conflict.  Debt like that can feel like a dark cloud, or more like a 1000 pound weight on your chest.  It’s hard to breathe, hard to see past it, hard to believe that it could EVER be gone.  Neither of us had the answers. We couldn’t do it on our own.  Ironically, if we’d already had the tools to fix it, we probably wouldn’t have gotten into the mess to begin with.

October 1999.  Enter LifeChurch, God, healing, and Dave Ramsey.  Pastor Craig was using teaching that he’d taken from Dave Ramsey’s books.  Life altering stuff.  I was sure that preacher was speaking only to me that first morning.  I knew he could see and hear me crying on the back row.  I surrendered that day.  and it was liberating.

Kevin came to church with me on my 3rd weekend there, October 31.  Funny how I remember the exact day, huh?  The message for that week?  The Tithe.  Giving back to God 10% of what is already His.  Kevin’s response?  Do it. no hesitation…yeah, he’s good like that. 🙂

We wrote a check to God that week or the next (i can’t remember which) and so began our journey to recovery.  Acknowledging that all we have is really His.  I’m not saying it’s easy, but attempting to live in that mind-set causes you to make different choices in life and to re-prioritize what’s “necessary” and important.

I KNOW that during this series at my church, someone else is going to have a similar encounter with a holy, forgiving, merciful God.  I’m praying for you, whoever you are.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on March 15, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I went to my third week of FPU, but I’m so jealous that you actually get to see Dave Ramsey speak, that would be awesome!

  2. Posted by Cindi on March 16, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Once again, you have inspired me. We have gotten into debt since the kids were born and we went down to one income. We have plenty of stress, pain, conflict and I would add shame for me. I know regular tithing is the answer but haven’t been able to bring myself to do it. We need that money, right? I know, wrong.

  3. Posted by carikelley on March 16, 2009 at 9:49 am

    oh, shame. yes, I can’t believe I forgot that one. That was definitely mine.

    But, yeah, do it. You can do more with the 90% + GOD, than you could ever do with 100%.

Leave a Reply

