If you want wisdom…

If you want wisdom…just ask.  That’s what God said in James, chapter 1. Just ask.   Oh, boy, do I want need wisdom.   Difficult decisions abound here in my world, as I’m sure they do everywhere.  But asking isn’t the end…

I think what I used to do, is ask–then go on about my business.  Flip on the tube, or a movie, or get busy doing other stuff—you know, doin’ my own thing.  In the words of Dr. Phil “How’s that workin’ for ya, Cari?”  Well, to be honest, it wasn’t.  I just wasn’t hearing from God.

Mark 4:24 says that the more you listen, the more understanding you’re given.  The more you listen….hmmm…

To me, it’s kind of like eating–whether I eat junk food or healthy food determines how I feel physically AND emotionally (oddly enough).  What I listen to, “junk” or truth, determines how I feel emotionally, mentally, AND sometimes physically.  This is a fairly simply concept, but, alas, I am a slow learner and sometimes the simplest things take the longest to “get”!

This morning, after I dropped the carpool kids off at school, I was asking God what to do with my sweet Cameron.  She’s “sick” again this morning, with a list of ailments that would make a person go, “hmmmm….”  I need wisdom.  I’m tired of stumbling around in the dark.

So, listen is the word for the day.   Is your life cluttered with “noise” that makes it hard to hear God?   Define that “noise”, then shut it off.  Because if you want wisdom, you gotta ask–then listen– for God.  He promises to answer.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good stuff. I agree that tv brings my mood DOWN sometimes. I’ll finish Twilight, but I’ll also try to tune out the world more upon your encouragement.

    Sorry about Cameron’s sickies. Maybe some probiotics from the health food store would get her Flora and Fonna straightened back out? I’ll pray for wisdom for you and me both.

  2. […] better. I believed that knowing Him better would help me to love Him more.  True that.   Also, wisdom and understanding-–I need more of it.  Again, I’m not […]

Leave a Reply

