Twilight~Twemptation

Ok, let me just say that I never thought I’d be writing a post about this book/movie.  Never.  I’ve avoided it.  Haven’t read the book, haven’t seen the movie.  Won’t. Can’t.  You have no idea.

Let me also say that this time last year, I would not have hesitated to become “involved’ with Twilight.  Actually, that’s not true. I would have hesitated, but then I would have done it anyway.  I can’t even explain to you how much I want to read or watch it.  I say “become involved” because that’s what I do…I don’t just watch.  I think some of you know what I mean by that…if you don’t, I don’t care to explain. sorry.

Today I was preparing a post for this blog about a song I love and watching a vid on a video sharing site. I saw in “related videos” a clip of this movie put to this very song I was enjoying.  My desire to click the play button was intense.   Curious to see the touching emotional love scenes b/t the 2 handsome people.  Curious to see if I would connect emotionally…knowing I probably would.  Thankfully, God’s word came to my mind  “each of you is tempted when you are dragged away by your own desire.  and desire gives birth to sin”  from James 1.

Now I am NOT saying that this movie is sin.  It may not be a problem for you.  I’m not judging.  Really, I’m not!  But, as I have said more than once on this very blog, this genre is a problem for me.  I know it makes me weird and possibly makes me look all fanatically religious and righteous when I avoid it.  That’s fine, I guess.  Obviously I don’t care what anyone else thinks about me….since I even mentioned it, right? Whatever.

All this to say that I’ll be really glad when the Twilight wave has passed.   The temptation is rough and until now I’ve been enduring it quietly.  Until now. You have no idea.

and yes, I just found the tool bar to change font color…and I’ve had this blog for a year…slow learner, I am…jeesh.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Cari, I UNDERSTAND!!!!! For me, as a single person…… and a 26 year old (tomorrow! woot!) who has never been kissed, I find the temptation of movies and TV shows in this genre to be too much to handle. For me, it’s the excitement of something I’ve never experienced personally and desiring it for myself, so much so that that desire seems to override my desire for God. I admit it, I hate being single, it’s hard for me, but what’s even harder is keeping my expectations in check for my future spouse, especially knowing that real life love is a lot harder than that of the romance genre. Thanks so much for your honesty! It’s great to know that someone else understands how difficult it can be.

  2. Posted by edge on March 26, 2009 at 9:36 am

    you didn’t know about the color bar……dang……you know you can add polls?

    It’s tough to break the temptation of things but the reward of walking away or separating yourself feels like you conquered the world! Stay Strong CK!

  3. Posted by christyd4 on March 26, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Boy did I need your strength when Shelby asked me to take her to see this right before Christmas. She had borrowed the first two books and bought the second two with birthday money in September, but I hadn’t read them. I walked out of the theater, over to Walmart and bought the first book. I read it in two days, then I bought the second book and read it that day. I read all four and the unpublished manuscript on the author’s website in a week. I was/am the definition of obsessed. I actually think the kids are watching the movie right now downstairs. It’s too much, I need your faith and discipline. I wonder if I can get that at Walmart in the Twilight section. Probably not.

  4. Ooooh. It looks nice over here Cari. 🙂 As for Twilight, I guess I don’t mind having a few distractions from life now and then. I always think of these things as distracting from my housework as I listen to them on my I-pod. I guess they do take away from my focus on the Lord, but I’m sure I’d just be on the internet if I wasn’t distracted into cleaning something around the house. I DO think the books are too passionate for youngsters. They should not be getting caught up in romance at such an early age.
    Whatever our opinions are on this type of thing, you HAVE successfully reminded me to download some more Lifechurch.tv goodness. I love it!

  5. […] by carikelley in Bible stuff, life. 2 Comments One more time I need to say, “I can’t wait till this Twilight movie loses some of it’s momentum!”  Two […]

Leave a Reply

