From Slumped to Pumped

I think I’m in a slump today.  I currently have several drafts on my blog dashboard…things I ‘ve started, had ideas for, then didn’t finish for one reason or another.  Posts about resolutions, expectations, my sweet sister, and some Old Testament dude named Jehosaphat–cleverly titled “Jumpin’ Jehosaphat”–I know!  How clever am I!?

Currently you’ll find me slumped on the sofa in my quiet house–or it would be quiet if my stupid dog would stop barking her head off outside.  I just can’t get out of my slumped position to shush her.  My laptop is not plugged in, so I figured I would just play around on it till the battery died.  Then I might get up, or I might not.

It’s not that I don’t have things to do–my to-do list is long and growing, but I’m unmotivated.  Will anybody care by next week if all of these things get done?

My bible is opened next to me, I’ve been reading from Isaiah, I Peter, and John today. It’s good Friday, but that seems like such an inappropriate name for the day.  It’s the day we celebrate or recognize the sacrifice Jesus made so that we could be whole, healed, and have intimate fellowship with our creator.  I get that it’s a good thing.  I wouldn’t want it any other way.  But, the beating…

Isaiah says in chapter 52 that “from his appearance, one would scarcely know he was a man” and “his face was so disfigured he seemed hardly human”. I can’t wrap my head around that kind of violence.  How could any human do that to another human?   Yet, he willingly endured it, and then ultimately gave up his life…for me.  So that I could be healed, made whole, redeemed, and forgiven.

That’s heavy stuff.  But it’s also motivating.  Do I want His sacrifice to be in vain.  NO WAY!  I’ve already given my heart to Him.  I’ve given my life to Him.  I think it’s time to get off this couch and give this day to Him.  Above all else, I will seek and choose to GLORIFY Him today.

Woo hoo!  and there’s church tonight and tomorrow AND the next day!  Thousands of people will come to my church alone, and hundreds of thousands will worship in other places this weekend.  I’m praying for BIG things, miraculous things, and only-God-can-do things!  Tell me, what’s He doing for you!?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cindi on April 11, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    We watched The Passion again Fri night, a good reminder of the sacrifice he made for us. He took all of that without complaint and in comparison I think I do a whole lot of whining about nothing.

  2. Posted by thebigpicmin on April 24, 2009 at 1:24 am

    I like to watch this video every so often. It keeps the sacrifice fresh in my life.

    http://video.google.com/googleplayer.swf?docid=-7715977994464942073&hl=en&autoPlay=true&playerMode=simple

    Here’s my write up – I pray it blesses you.
    Glenn
    http://thebigpicmin.wordpress.com/2009/03/12/which-jesus-do-you-follow/

Leave a Reply

