Do You Do Hard Things? part 1

I’m reading a book called Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris.  It was written by teens for teens.  But, it’s challenging me. and I’m not a teen.  Do I do hard things?  Or do I coast?

When I think of someone who does hard things, I think of my cousin who is raising 3 girls BY HER SELF, going to school, AND working full time.  and she is not just raising them, but she’s teaching them to value education, each other, a relationship with God…they have traditions, family identity, confidence.  They are loved, self-assured, beautiful, happy, goal-oriented.  They watch their mom work hard and pursue more, not for worldly success or money, but because she has goals.  That’s hard.

And I think of my sister who works full time at a job she’s not crazy about, just to pay the bills.  With her husband out of work, she has to leave her beautiful, precious toddlers (my niece and nephew who I’m crazy about!) and go to work every day to provide for her family.  Not only that, but she still runs the house, plans and prepares meals, and spends LOTS of time with the kids so they know that she loves them. She does all of this with a positive attitude and a thankful heart.   My friends, that’s hard.

My circumstances have been easy by comparison, allowing me to skate by doing the minimum.    So who’s better off?  I’m sure there is value to doing hard things. What is it?

I need a minute to think….let me get back to you on that.  In the meantime, give me your input.  What do you gain by doing hard things?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on May 5, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    you made me tear up, thanks so much. Love you!

  2. Posted by christyd4 on May 5, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Oh, and i’m going to write that book down to get for Shelby.

  3. Posted by carikelley on May 5, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    be careful, it’s liable to light her on fire!

  4. Posted by carikelley on May 5, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    sorry! Oh, wait, you’re not afraid to cry, are ya?! Love you too!

  5. Posted by Cindi on May 6, 2009 at 11:14 am

    When I read the first part of the blog that said do you do hard things or coast, I thought I definitely coast, but I guess you’re right – I do do hard things!

    The working hard part is kinda easy, it’s the positive attitude and thankful heart that I have to fight for everyday. Thanks for the shout out!

    And yes, Christy does rock!

Leave a Reply

