Do You Do Hard Things? Part 2

The benefits to doing hard things.  Ok, since no one helped me out on my last Hard Things post and named some benefits of doing hard things (like I asked!) I’ll have to do all the hard work and put together a list of reasons why we would bother doing hard things rather than coasting by in our every day lives. And, yes, I tried to make that last sentence as long as possible.  Wasn’t too hard.

Let me just start by saying that right now, this is a really hard thing for me.  My brain is tired and I really want to make this post meaningful, but I’m afraid I won’t say enough. or I won’t convince you or me that it’s worth it–to skip easy and do hard instead.  But, it’s been a week since my first Hard Things post and I can’t put it off forever.  So, here comes a less than perfect answer…

  • produces growth and change-I want to be different next year than I am right now.  If I never change, I could grow stagnant and moldy–what kind of a blessing would I be to others?
  • makes you stronger-without pushing past our comfort zones, we’ll never get stronger (the same is true w/ physical exercise too!)
  • develops character–
  • accomplishes something-this one’s obvious.  If we don’t try, then we never will succeed.

This is all I have for now.  I know there is infinitely more to say on this subject but it’s just not flowing right now.  So, if you’re reading—chime in.  Even if it’s hard!

Thanks!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindi on May 11, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I agree with all 4 points especially the one about developing character. One thing that I really want to teach my kids is to never, NEVER, not do something because it is hard or because they think they will fail. Procrastination also falls under the category of doing hard things, we procrastinate certain things b/c we know they will be difficult or take a really long time. One of the best quotes I have heard on procrastination is “A year from now, you will have wished you started today.” Not sure who said that but I always think of it when I try to put off doing hard things, and it’s so true.

  2. Do hard things because you find out new things about yourself that you might not have known before. You might discover a new passion or hobby that was hidden otherwise. Do hard things to learn something new and exercise your brain. Do hard things because you might just meet some new and interesting people.

    Bottom line, don’t sit in front of the TV and let your life get away from you.

    Enjoyed your posts on the subject. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

