Do You Do Hard Things? part 3

A letter of apology to my children.

I’m sorry, kids, that I didn’t expect more from you.   My intention was just to take care of you.  I know that you can cut your own apple, but I’m scared you will slice your finger off with the knife….or just skip the apple altogether because it’s too much trouble.   I know that you can clean your own room and do your own laundry, but my Love Language is Acts of Service–so it’s just my way of telling you I love you.

I’m sorry that I let you get away with being “too tired” after school to do your chores before you plop down on the couch to watch mindless TV.  While I understand and sympathize with your long, grueling day, we all have responsibilities…so, suck it up.  I’m also sorry that I occasionally let you mumble incoherent responses to adults, or, worse, answer for you, because you’re “too shy”.

So, while I might seem a little more “harsh” and demanding in the future, it’s only because I care about your future.   You’ll be taking care of your own room and laundry.  If you are hungry for a snack, go get it yourself.  You’ll be pulling your weight around the house, or…or…or else.  🙂   And, if someone speaks to you, you’ll use common courtesy and answer them–it’s not THAT hard, for Pete’s sake!  Please try to remember that if I didn’t love you I wouldn’t care whether or not you could take care of yourself when you grew up.  I wouldn’t care if you had the life skills to succeed at whatever you wanted.

I’m asking you to reach past your comfort zones, to go above and beyond the minimum required, and to dream big because I love you and I KNOW that you are MORE than capable of doing hard things.  Please just remember, do it all with the attitude of Christ–be humble and love others more than yourself.

Love you both,

Mom

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindi on May 13, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Oh, great letter! I am going to copy it and read it to my kids one day!

Leave a Reply

