WWJW?

As a Christ follower, is it OK to participate in activities that are morally wrong, or at least morally questionable?   The easy answer to this question, is “of course not”.   Then, my next question is…is it OK to watch someone else participate in activities that are morally questionable or just downright wrong?  Even if they are only pretending or acting out situations? Please don’t make me make a list, and I hope you’re not just picturing sexual stuff in your mind. (for more reasons than one!)  This could go for anything from sexual sin, to gossip, lying, violence…that’s my short list–I’ll let you define for yourself what is “morally questionable or wrong”.

I really hate to pull out the old “WWJD”, but maybe that’s our best measuring stick.  High standard?  Sure.  Too high?  I don’t think so.  As Christ followers, we are not called to compromise, but to have the attitude of Christ–staying pure, considering our lives nothing apart from God.

You might have guessed already that I’m referring to TV and movies–a recurring theme here on this blog, I’m afraid.  Please understand, I’m not condemning anyone else for their own decisions, but only questioning and processing where I stand on this issue.

The word of God has lots to say about this.  2 Corinthians 7:1 says it like this:

Because we have these promises (that God is with us and for us), let us cleanse ourselves from everything that can defile our body or spirit. And let us work toward complete holiness out of reverence for God”.   (emphasis mine)

I don’t know about you, but that word everything hollers at me from the page.  It screams commitment, sacrifice, and purity, and it forces me to redefine what is acceptable for me to lay eyes on or put in my mind.  No doubt, what goes in affects the way I think and act.  Garbage in, garbage out.  How much do I care about protecting my spirit and reserving it completely for God?  It means everything to me.

I could read scripture and just lightly brush by some of the more “difficult” commands…but…that just wouldn’t be fair.  I think I would be missing out on some huge pieces of what God has in store for ME.  This is the obedience he has called ME to…not you, necessarily, but ME, definitely.

One response to this post.

  1. […] here’s my question.  What happens when you take a stand like this? Especially in a world where movies are such a huge part of our culture.  Everywhere I […]

Leave a Reply

