Shakespeare’s cool and smart and stuff

Yeah, I’m a literary snob.  Yeah, right. I read/watch Shakespeare…and love it.  I even understand some of it…I’d say about 2/3 to 3/4 of it.   Then I wax on poetically about the themes and symbolism.  (only in my head, thankfully!) Shakespeare may just be some dead white dude, but he knows his sh*t.   I pulled that outta 10 Things I Hate About You, a movie inspired by Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew.   I’m only a little embarrassed to admit this is one of my favorite movies…and it has a kickin’ soundtrack.

So here comes the part where I wax poetic…not really.   I just like it.  and I’m fairly certain that watching Shakespeare will keep me from getting Alzheimers.  Yeah, you heard me right.    You see, cuz my brain is SO active, translating what they are saying into American English, and then WISHING I could say stuff like that.   It’s just beautiful.  and sarcastic, and witty, and surprisingly full of sexual innuendo. So, it keeps my brain in shape…it’s just a bonus.

“I will speak daggers to her, but use none.”  Now, I probably would have said, “I’m gonna give her a piece of my mind”.    Hamlet’s words are infinitely better. “To be, or not to be?”  Did you know that Hamlet is contemplating whether or not to commit suicide?!   “Rich gifts wax poor when givers prove unkind.”  Good gifts don’t mean as much when the giver isn’t nice.   Even Ophelia has good lines.

Alas, no matter how I try, I just can’t form thoughts in the Shakespearean way.     I should’ve been born in England in the 1500’s, I guess.  For now, I’ll go on speaking Oklahoman English with a bit of Hicklish thrown in and dream in Shakespearean English.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on August 16, 2009 at 12:11 am

    No one talks like that anymore. And 10 Things I Hate About You is my favorite movie. I cry every time she reads her 10 things. Every.Time. I just watched it again the other day since it’s on Watch Instantly on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

