Another update on Gettin’ Healthy 08

I realize it’s more than halfway through ’09, but I started this “Gettin’ Healthy” project back in ’08.  Click here if you want the particulars. OR, I could just tell you that I started exercising and eating better so I could get healthy…not a diet to lose weight….just feel better and be healthier.  After all, I was turning 40 in less than a year!  What else do you expect!?

ANYWAY,  I fell off the bandwagon a while back (or is it just the wagon?), as I predicted I would back in October ’08.    Self-fulfilling prophecy or just a good grasp on history?  Either way, I plumped back up, slowed back down, and generally starting feeling like doodoo.

So, the first day of school, August 18, was my start date to get back on track.  I’m back on FitDay.com, tracking calories, eating lots of fruit (nature’s candy, ya know!) and oatmeal and fiber bars and more fruit.  Yowza.  I won’t even tell you the side effect of all that fruit and fiber.

AND, most exciting and most motivating, I’ve decided to run a 5K race in October.  I’ve gathered a couple of peeps to  run with me, too!  We’re doing the Race for the Cure on 10/10 in downtown OKC.   I’m using the Couch to 5K Running Plan to get ready.  I’ve NEVER been a runner.  I usually avoid it if at all possible.  But I need a goal. a reason to move. an assignment.

I’m on day 4 of eating less. and today I finished week 1, day 2 (of 3) of my new running program.  How am I doing??  Well, I thought I was going to die on my walk/run this morning. If my mom hadn’t been with me, I probably would have sat down on the sidewalk and cried.  And it’s only 4:00pm and I am STARVING!   I’ve saved calories all day for baked ziti tonight and a rice krispie treat during game night, so I’ve eaten a LOT of small portions, and fruit.  Did you know 1/2 cup of watermelon has only 24 calories?  An egg white has only 17 calories?  Bargains.    I have NO idea how much calories the ziti has and right now I really don’t have the energy to care!

and naturally, if I’m thinking about it, I have to write about it here.  Wish me luck!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Go Cari Go Cari Gooooooo! You can do it! Not sure I could…but YOU have all my confidence. 😀

  2. I’m running the Race for the Cure on October 4th here. I can’t run that long but am going to get a stop watch and start the couch potato to 5k too! I walked 5 miles the other night and then helped my friend move so I have a HUGE water blister on my big toe. It’s not pretty. Good luck to you!

  3. Also, I use http://www.mapmyrun.com to tell how far you’ve gone on your runs if you’re not on a treadmill. I love that sight and have several ways we go to get the mileage so you don’t get burned out on just one way.

  4. Posted by Sherri on August 25, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Great job Cari! It feels great to be 40 and healthy. After I get my gallbladder out next week, I am going to start the 5K plan too. I walked/ran a 5k for the Cure, but I want to run the whole thing this time!

Leave a Reply

