My Testimony-part 3

**In the interest of full disclosure, I did get “saved” at Falls Creek Church camp when I was a teenager.  I was baptized when I got home from camp, and went to church for a little while.  I read my bible.  But I never really understood that I could have a personal relationship with Jesus.    Without that part of it, it was just rules…the benefits of a personal relationship include intimacy, peace, support, comfort, fellowship.  It was right in front of me, but I didn’t understand that.**

Surrender…defined by Miriam-Webster as: to give (oneself) up into the power of another, especially as a prisoner.  It never felt so good.  Surrendering to God’s power.  Realizing that I couldn’t and wasn’t designed to do life on my own, was the most liberating moment of my life.

It amazes me how much my testimony intertwines with Psalm 116.  It could just be my prayer to God.  I could have written it.  I love the Lord because He heard my cry. Because he turned His ear to me, I will call on Him as long as I live.  The cords of death entangled me, the anguish of the grave came upon me; I was overcome by trouble and sorrow. That night in my car, that’s how I felt.  Overcome, anguished.  I cried out to no one in particular, but God was there–watching, listening, full of mercy and love and forgiveness.  The Lord is gracious and righteous and full of compassion.  The Lord protects the simple hearted. When I was in great need, he saved me.

I love Him and surrender to Him simply because He saved me and because I remember what it felt like to need a savior.

Now, I don’t want to over simplify things.  I did not go home from church that day with all my problems solved.  The debt was still there, I still didn’t want to tell my husband anything.  Let’s just say I had a LOT to process.  and I had a lot more light to do it with.

Leave a Reply

