The Art of Judging

I’m a judger.  I don’t wanna be.  But as I struggle to sort out my thoughts and feelings about certain things, then finally determine a stance on a certain issue, there is always going to be another side.  If I’ve reasoned rationally, then I have decided NOT to choose one side for a really good reason…this is the side I tend to judge.  I don’t know how not too.  I think as I’m trying to stand firm in my decision, I have to keep reminding myself why what I have chosen is right–is best.  Therefore…what’s the opposite of right?  or best?  wrong.  worst. Right?

I know it’s confusing when I try to speak in generalities.  But, I’m going to avoid the topic that is weighing heavy on me right now and use something easy to try to explain better.   Let’s go with something like….tanning beds. K?

So, for example, I’ve decided that tanning beds are bad for me, then how would I feel when someone told me that frequent tanning beds?    Would feelings of judgment flood my mind?  I would be thinking…”how can they do that to their skin!?”  Leathery, pumpkin faces.  Ow, harsh judgment.  Name calling.  I’m brutal, apparently.

But, you see the problem.  Does everyone do this or is it easier for some people to accept all angles?

Romans 8:1 says “So now there is NO condemnation in Christ.”    none. Experiment time.  I’m going to pray this verse every day and ask God to show me what grace looks like here.

Thoughts?  Input?  Anybody?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on November 18, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    I really struggle with bad thoughts, like mean thoughts. I don’t know why, I don’t think I’m a mean person, but this is something I was just struggling with just this morning. I don’t know how not to judge, but tanning beds really are bad so I’m with you on that! You can become tanorexic…..oh, wait, I know that’s not the real issue.

  2. Hhm. I had a conversation with someone just yesterday about not alienating people through the judgment of their sin. We talked about how Jesus ate with sinners to meet them in their need. BUT- I think we shouldn’t be afraid to stand up for what we believe is right, and also stand against what we think is wrong.

    You are a very wise person, and I so admire that in you! I think it’s all about balancing grace with that God-given wisdom. You’ll figure it out with God’s help.

  3. Posted by Alicia on November 23, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I think everyone is guilty of making snap-judgements but it’s whether or not you choose to allow the initial judging to override your ability to see the other person’s point of view. Although sometimes I may have an opposite opinion or distaste for XYZ that doesn’t mean I’m going to let MY negativity taint a potential relationship. In simple form, the world is made up of very different people whom have very different perceptions of the same scenario(s), we can pick and choose what we’d walk away from whatever situation with but still respect that each person is going to choose their own ideas as well. With regard to tanning though … shoot, fact is fact it’s bad for your skin and hey, let’s face it you’re potentially risking cancer and your skin will get leathery and turn orange … ain’t no reason why you can’t point those things out! 😉

Leave a Reply

