C.A.R. time

I love to pray.  What I don’t love is when my prayers turn into a laundry list of needs to God.  OR when they are just reactions to something that just happened or something I said.  (most often those are prayers for forgiveness O_o)

So, how do you make it something different?  I’ve heard lots of different acronyms like ACTS (Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, Supplication) and others I can’t think of at the moment.  That works, I guess, but I needed something different, so I came up with my own.

One of my best places to pray is in the car when I’m by myself…coincidentally, my acronym is C.A.R.

Come–just come before the throne of a merciful, loving God

Acknowledge–who He is to you, how much you need Him, His grace, His love, etc. (this one could go on and on)

Rest-rest (trust) in His provision, His love, etc. and receive it–just let it fall on you

This “formula” keeps the focus on God and off of me.  Also, the resting part puts me in the right state of mind before I enter into my last “phase” of praying and that’s interceding (or praying) for other people.  Not coincidentally, that’s my I that completes my name. 🙂   I left that part out this time, in an attempt to make this duplicatable…just for fun.

Feel free to give it try.  If you like it, it’s yours.  If you don’t, no sweat.

One response to this post.

  1. Veeeery clever. Yes I should try your Cari, ahem, Car list. I tend to just ask for stuff right and left if I don’t have another plan too. And I don’t. :}

Leave a Reply

