Goals, Dreams, Plans, Schemes

I just recently realized something about myself…I work best with deadlines–or goals.  I wanted to exercise–specifically start running–but I didn’t just want to run willy-nilly up and down the street for indeterminate amounts of time.  So, I found a “plan” and set a goal.  Using The Couch to 5K running plan, I intend to be ready to run a 5K on May 15 in Guthrie at the See Spot Run–a fundraiser for a animal shelter in north Edmond.

On a better day, I’d be all super spiritual right now and find some applicable scripture about “running the race” or “the plans of the diligent”, but today you’ll have to find your own.  I’m tapped.

Here’s why it works…If I focus on my timer and how long I have left to run before I can stop and walk, I can sometimes forget that my legs feel like concrete or my lungs are about to explode.  I said sometimes.  And I know that without that timer, I’d stop when I got tired…which is approximately at the end of the street…or occasionally at the end of my driveway.

Every time I ran last week, I’d think, “I’ll never make it a whole 5 minutes!  I”ll just run 3.”  and then I make it 5.  I have to psyche myself out every time, but then I come back elated because I didn’t think I was going to make it, but I pushed myself!  It’s like a mental game that I play and I can’t tell if I’m winning or losing or both…but whatever works, right?

So, now (since my last blog post) I have a new goal…lose 1 1/2 pounds a week for the next 15 weeks.  Dang.  How am I going to do that?  I was thinking of sewing my lips shut.  But then I couldn’t yawn, so that’ll never work.  I have a goal, now I just need a plan.  Weight Watchers?  Counting calories?  Liquid diet?  Atkins?  South Beach? (that would be appropriate!)  I don’t know, perhaps I should refer back to the last 4 or 5 times that I’ve lost this same 15-20 pounds.  Surely, one of those methods would work again.

In search of fruit,

CariKelley

2 responses to this post.

  1. Maybe this is a family thing because I’m exactly the same way. My goal last year was not to die in the triathlon and I didn’t. My goal this year went out the window when I fell off the wagon and started rolling, but I’m inspired again and would like to do a half marathon before I’m 40 (that’s next year, you know?).

    It would be so much easier if I could sew my lips shut though. I’m a yawner too though. Fitday.com works for me when I log what I eat because I don’t want to put anything on there that will look bad so I just don’t eat it. I said WHEN I log what I eat.

  2. […] is no random, willy-nilly-ness to my exercise routine.  I told you a little about that last year, here…wait, 2 years ago…wow, time flies.   For example, since we are attending the midnight […]

Leave a Reply

