Jesus, Jesus, Jesus

I’m reading the  Bible chronologically, and I just started the New Testament this month.  I’m basically reading all 4 Gospels simultaneously..jumping from book to book, chapter to chapter…if not for YouVersion on the iPhone, I’d be a page turning crazy person.  So, Jesus has been on my mind a lot lately.  Jesus, the man.  Jesus, the Son of God.  Jesus, the Messiah.

In addition, since it was just Easter a week ago, we watched the Passion of the Christ movie together.  The youngest of us opted out, but me, Kev, and Cory watched it.  That was only my 2nd time to ever see the movie and it was as hard to watch as I remembered it being.

I feel like I finally got an answer to a question that I’ve had for a long time though.  I’ve always wondered why Jesus’ death had to be so awful.  so cruel. so painful. so humiliating. I don’t ever question why he had to die…I understand the sacrificial lamb–being killed to atone for sin.  But, why the beating?  Why the torture?  You never heard about people in the Old Testament beating the animals before they killed them to be a sacrifice.  They just killed them…clean and simple.

And then it occurred to me…He took on the sins of the world.  ALL the sins of the ENTIRE world. What did I expect that to look like?  Should it have been easy?    I don’t know for sure if this is really THE answer to this question, but right now it makes sense to me.  Of course taking on the sin of the world would be ugly. painful. brutal.  ruthless.

Can you believe that he loved you that much?  He wanted you to be reconciled with God so much, that He was willing to go through that torture.  Can you imagine doing that for someone else?  Do we humans have the capacity to love with that kind of love?

Thanks, Jesus.  Thank you for saving me before I even deserved saving.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Siren on April 14, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I don’t understand. I don’t understand why Jesus could love a doubtful teenager like me. I. Don’t. Understand.

  2. Posted by Cindi on April 16, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I think I have always known He loved me that much but do I really KNOW it ? Do I live it every day? I would have to say probably not.

    A few years ago at our Good Friday service, the church gave us each a piece of wood and had us write on it, “When Jesus was on the cross, I was on His mind.” Me of all people? Me? Why me? One of those hard to believe truths we just can’t wrap our minds around.

  3. Posted by Siren on April 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    It’s hard to think about God when you have a hole in your heart big enough to drive a truck through. I was always the strongest in my sunday school group. I know all of the stories and names by heart. I believe in spiritual warfare: you know angels in demons. But I’m just so . . . I don’t know . . . depressed.

Leave a Reply

