A Desire to Control

In Genesis 3, God describes His punishment for Adam and Eve eating the “forbidden fruit”.  Verse 16 describes Eve’s punishment specifically.  I remember the part about the childbirth being painful (thanks, Eve), but the next sentence stood out to me.  I read it in several different versions even.  The New Living Translation says something radically different than the others, in my opinion.

This one is the New Living Translation.

Then he said to the woman,
“I will sharpen the pain of your pregnancy,
and in pain you will give birth.
And you will desire to control your husband,
but he will rule over you.”

This one is the King James Version.

“Unto the woman he said, I will greatly multiply thy sorrow and thy conception; in sorrow thou shalt bring forth children; and thy desire shall be to thy husband, and he shall rule over thee.”

In the first it says that woman will desire to control her husband and in the next it says woman’s desire will be for her husband.  Two VERY different concepts.  Initially, I was like, “Oh, so that’s why I’m so bossy”.  and then after I read the other translations I was just confused.  Did part of the punishment include making woman only attracted to her husband??  Cuz that does NOT seem the case in the world today.

Thoughts?  Explanations?  Clarifications?

Good thing I don’t get too hung up on little things like this.  I more than realize that I’m not smart enough to understand EVERYTHING in the bible.  By faith, I believe that it’s completely true, whether I understand it or not.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by christyd4 on July 24, 2010 at 10:57 am

    That is really different. I think from those two translations, I like the King James version better. Is it wrong to have a bible preference? In my Bible in a Year, the New Living Translations says, “You will bear children with intense pain and suffering. And though your desire will be for your husband, he will be your master.” And my NIV says, “To the woman he said, ‘I will greatly increase your pains in chilbearing; with pain you will give birth to children. Your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.” As if the bible isn’t confusing enough (for me), we also have to consider all the different translations?

Leave a Reply

