Fasting vs. Dieting

In all fairness, all this healthy food talk is coming to me during a biblical fast.  Specifically, a Daniel Fast.   In my words, fasting is denying yourself physical food for a spiritual purpose.  I’m denying myself sugar, meat, dairy, breads, and coffee for the purpose of gaining increased intimacy with God, as well as other specific prayer requests.

Someone asked me “How will you deal with temptation?” The answer…hmmm…lots of ways probably.  Pray. Resolve. God. Knowing that its for a higher purpose. Go to bed early.  Eat lots of fruit.  It’s a different feeling than a diet–a different level of commitment.  A different person I’ve committed to, so the temptation is easier to handle.

I know that I want a breakthrough and if I continue to sacrifice the immediate desire for food, I will get the longer lasting, farther reaching benefits that God has to offer me.

The bonus is that it happens to be really healthy for my body too.  Other than eating about 1/2 the protein I normally would, I’m eating nothing BUT healthy. and maybe a little TOO much fiber.

But again, you crave what you consume. This concept applies to much more than just food, although it certainly applies to food.  The more of God I consume, the more I crave.  The more time in God’s word, the more I realize it really is better than life. Psalm 63:3

2 responses to this post.

  1. You are so inspiring. I wish I could change my thinking and that I liked more fruits.

  2. Posted by carikelley on January 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    YOU can change your thinking, Christy! my goodness, you did that triathlon thing…which is very impressive, btw…so I know you can do anything!

Leave a Reply

