Bulking up the Oatmeal

I love oatmeal.   I’ve even learned to love it without the brown sugar. That was a rough process, but banana slices or some blueberries have replaced the sweetener in my bowl.   Over time I’ve also added flaxseed meal to the mix for even more flavor (and fiber!).  My latest addition is quinoa–another grain that adds another 4 grams of protein to my morning bowl.

Cari’s Oatmeal

1/4 cup oats

2 Tblsp flaxseed meal

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup frozen blueberries (fresh are better when in season, but then add them after you cook it)

1/2 cooked quinoa–I’d like to figure out if I can put it in without cooking it first…I’ll try that soon

splash of milk (or water when I’m fasting)

Put the oats, flax, water and frozen blueberries in a microwave safe bowl and cook on high for 2 minutes.  It will look like this. Appetizing, huh?

Stir in previously cooked quinoa.

Add milk and a sliced banana if you want.

Total Calories for this amazing bowl of goodness? 356! Which is a good breakfast number, btw.  Sugar free can taste delicious!

Total fat 8g

Sodium 8g

Total carbs 69g

fiber 13g

protein 11g

Iron 24%

Leave a Reply

