Boxes of Lies

Oh, I know…prepared foods are soooo much more convenient and they have their time and their place, but in my attempts to eat “clean”, I’ve been reading a LOT of labels. and a lot of labels reveal a LOT of stuff I don’t want to consume.  Have I  mentioned the hidden trans fats everywhere!?  Bad, bad, bad.  Anyway, prepared foods–boxed mixes,  bagged snacks, are finding their way out of my pantry. This is much to the dismay of my oldest who sees that as “we never have anything to eat in this house”.  He doesn’t like to put much effort into anything, especially eating.

The lie of “low-fat”….if you are watching what you eat–trying to lose weight–don’t you always think, “I should get the “low-fat” version–it’s better”?  I used to.   Well, no more.   I never even stopped to wonder how they make it lower fat.  Sure, most of the fat is removed (fat isn’t as evil as we make it out to be either) but in order for the food to still be palatable, the fat is replaced with fillers–mostly carbohydrate based, so you really aren’t doing yourself any favors.  And more importantly, the “low-fat” diet is/was a lie/scientific bumble that I grew up on!  The market, in an effort to “Help” the general public be healthier (I’m sure!) then began spitting out  truck loads of low-fat versions of everything imaginable!  Gee thanks, Nabisco.  and Kraft.  and Hostess.  You really care about me that much??  ha!  Ironically, when the low-fat craze became accepted as truth (around the 1980’s) is when the rate of obesity grew to an epidemic.  Here’s a link to an article if you want more insight.

I’ll get down off my soapbox now.

Wait…did you know that the use of the word “natural” isn’t regulated by the FDA?  Any marketing dude can slap that word on a box and we (myself included) fall for it!  “Oh, I want that brand, because it’s better…it’s “natural”!”

Ok, I’m done.

LIES!

Ok, now I’m done.

Leave a Reply

