Clean Cheese

What does it mean to “eat clean”? I think to me it just means to eat less chemicals, additives, preservatives, etc.

Take cheese for example. If you buy the pre-shredded kind and look at the ingredient list, you’ll see more than just cheese (or “cultured pasteurized milk”) you also see color additives, potato starch and powdered cellulose (to prevent caking) and Natamycin (mold inhibitor). What is powdered cellulose? What is Natamycin? What is potato starch and do I want it on my cheese? Honestly, I don’t know. Are these things BAD? again, honestly, I really don’t know! But, they are not cheese, and I bought CHEESE.

So now I buy the blocks of cheese. The pro’s? It’s cheaper, tastes better, and it’s healthier. The con’s? Grating can be a messy process, it’s a lot more trouble–you have to really want the cheese, and it molds faster than the pre-grated kind (I guess because it doesn’t have the Natamycin 0_O). But I will persevere…and look for a better cheese grater.

Maybe someday, I’ll buy a cow and make my own cheese. Wouldn’t that be awesome?! No?! Ok, yeah, it wouldn’t.

One response to this post.

  1. It wouldn’t be easier to own a cow in order to make cheese, but you might not have to mow as much. There are pros and cons to everything. I’m getting concerned about your blog because I’m afraid at the end, there’s going to be nothing good for you to eat.

Leave a Reply

