My Funeral Music of Choice

2 1/2 years ago I attempted to write my own eulogy..complete with some details on the actual “service”.  Who does this?!  I don’t know, but I had recently been to a funeral, and, as it usually does, it got me thinking about what my funeral would look like, what people would say, etc.

If you want to read what I attempted for my eulogy, the first attempt is here and the second is here.  If you don’t click over to read, you’re not missing much…anyway, one other detail I’d like to add for the service is the music.    I’ve never really had a favorite song for very long.  I’m sure there are some songs that I could hear and say “Oh, I’ve always LOVED that song!!” but I can never think of them off the top of my head.

One band that I have loved consistently and increasingly over the last 10 years is Switchfoot. 9-10 albums full of songs with lots of deep meaning, some confuse the heck out of me, and lots of minor chords, aka a bit of a melancholy sound at times.  Lead singer Jon Foreman notes “we try to make music for thinking people. Music has always opened my mind—and that’s what we want”.   I think that’s why I don’t get tired of their songs…they keep my mind engaged.

I have a few specific song choices, Afterlife or Where I Belong or Gone or Burn Out Bright, for example, but really, anything will do.

This would only apply if I die in the next 10-20 years or so….subject to change I suppose.   Will I still like the same music when I’m 60?  70? 80?  Maybe I should ask some 60-80 year olds to see if they do.

2 responses to this post.

  1. This made me think of when we were in the car and I said I wanted I Can Only Imagine played at my funeral and Shelby asked if she could sing it. And I said, It’s my funeral, not American Idol. Then we had a slide show with that song for my dad’s funeral and she decided she’d never be able to sing it, but then Lindsey said, I’ll do it.

  2. […] honor of my cousin Cari talking about her funeral music HERE and because I’m a hack with no original ideas, I’m resurrecting my blog on my choice […]

Leave a Reply

