More about the ouch

About a month ago I rambled on non-specifically about kids and how they can hurt you. Still hurting over here.  Letting my mind and my imagination run rampant.  And the stress is starting to manifest itself in physical symptoms.  I feel like someone pressed my slow-mo button.  I’m dragging through days with no energy, feeling achy all over, can’t sleep, can barely make myself get out of bed.  It’s been over a week since I did my Insanity workout!  I know!  This is getting serious.  Some days I can’t even engage at work–I’m just going through the motions…feeling like a zombie (not the face eating kind, though).  I really have to figure out how to get over it…past it…through it…whatever.

Through this current pain, I was praying for WISDOM and PERSPECTIVE.   God is so good to reveal wisdom to me. Words to say, words NOT to say.  Next steps, etc. He has shown me a longer term perspective–believing that this is not the end and that God will still get the glory when all is said and done.

Now I’ve switched to praying for TRUTH and COMPASSION.   Truth for both me and my precious offspring.  Specifically, truth about who God is and who we are because of who HE is.

TRUTH…God is SOVEREIGN.  God is HOLY.  God is LOVING.  God is JUST.  God is JEALOUS.  God is COMPASSIONATE.  God is FAITHFUL.  and on and on it goes.  We are LOVED.  We are ACCEPTED.  We are FORGIVEN.  We are CHOSEN.  We are SET APART.    Replace lies with TRUTH.

COMPASSION…acceptance, without condemnation, love, patience…and you can’t just pretend to be compassionate.  If I’m pretending, I will struggle to sound compassionate—the tone of my voice, my word choice, my facial expressions–all will reveal the truth.  You wanna SEE what compassion looks like?  Watch this video thats been on YouTube for a while now.  Watch Jesus the whole time.  He’s never angry.  He never gives up.  He’s always focused on his daughter, reaching out, waiting.  I’ve probably watched this skit a couple dozen times over the last few years, but I still get emotional when I watch it.   Jesus is the epitome of compassion and love.  and hope.

As hard as it seems, I will “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, and faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:12   I will be compassion, acceptance, love–not by my own strength, but through the power of the Holy Spirit that lives in me. Ephesians 1: 19 

One response to this post.

  1. I love when you ramble non-specifically. I’m way too specific!

Leave a Reply

