Day 6-The Whole30

Six days in and I’m ready to be done. Well, yesterday I was READY, but today I’m feeling a little better.  Days 2 and 3 included adorable “detoxing” headaches and flu-like aches. I just wanted to crawl into bed and moan a little.  Weird dreams about ordering cheeseburgers (not eating them, just ordering unfortunately) plagued night 3. Day 4 I was feeling pretty good.  But, yesterday, Day 5 was hard.  Now granted, I was at work and surrounded by chips, cookies, and pizza, but I wanted to eat EVERYTHING in sight. Not because I felt hungry in the slightest, but I just wanted COOKIES.

If you don’t know much about the Whole30, you can read about it here.  Basically, it is just eating really, really clean for 30 days to “reset” your system.  Meat, fish, eggs, fruits and vegetables for 30 days.  How hard can that be?  Here’s what I ate for dinner on Day 4.  Delicious. Not feeling deprived with all that on my plate!!Image

To be fair, I ate pretty “clean” all last week except Friday night (wow!) so when I started The Whole 30 on Saturday I was already in pretty good shape.   I really am wishing I had just went all in last week…I’d be 1/2 way there by now!

I am continuing to go to the gym 6 days a week (just finished 8 weeks in a row of that!) and my energy level seems to be more than adequate to do my 1/2 hour cardio and 15 minutes of weights.

Since you are not supposed to weigh yourself while doing The Whole30 (to reiterate the fact that it’s NOT about weight loss), I can’t report any numbers but I can already see and feel a difference, especially in my middle–that’s a trouble spot 😉

One more day and a half and I’ll be 1/4 of the way done! Yeah!

One response to this post.

  1. If it’s any consolation…From what I heard from some others, the more you go all out before you start the Whole30, the more yuck you feel during the Whole30. So, I think you made the better choice. Everything should get easier from here on.

    The wanting cookies didn’t go away completely for me until about Day 60. (I’m now at Day 76.) I had thought I was a very healthy eater, but it’s amazing how sugar is sneaked into everything not homemade. And then there’s the similar sugar effect with too many servings of fruit, when we all considered fruit so healthy.

    Enjoy the rest of your Whole30 journey to a new and improved you!!

Leave a Reply

