Whole30 Finished–update

I did it!

Actually I finished 5 days ago, but I’ve been having trouble getting around to this blog post.  30 days with absolutely no added sugar, no legumes (no peanut butter!!), no grains of any kind, and no dairy!  No processed foods at all. The first 3 weeks were a challenge, especially with Thanksgiving in there, but the last week was easy-breezy.   Once I got the hang of the menus, the cooking routine, and past the cravings it really seemed almost effortless.

Even now, five days after Day 30, I’m still eating generally the same things.  It’s just a relief to be ABLE to eat other stuff, even if I don’t WANT to.  I have added one or two things back a day–in very small amounts–with no ill effects.   I’m watching my face like a hawk, checking for hints of a oncoming break out…nothing yet.  But there is a lot still to “test”…peanut butter, soy, wheat, for example.

Sorry to say that my neck still hurts…it may be a smidgeon better, but still hurts, tweaks, and twinges.   My head definitely feels clearer and my energy level is excellent.  I had been at a weight loss plateau for months, but I lost a total of 9 pounds in 30 days, putting me at 121…I don’t remember when I last weighed 121—maybe when I was a teen?! It is nice to be able to SEE the muscles I’ve been working on at the gym for the past 2 years. 🙂

The subtitle to the book It Starts with Food is “Discover the Whole 30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways”.   Well, it’s waaaaaaaay to early to tell if I’ve changed my life in the long term, but things are definitely different in the short term!  I’m so excited to be off of that daily acne medicine!!

Was it easy? NO.  Was it worth it?  YES. A hundred times YES!

Leave a Reply

