What’s Going On?

Mother, mother…

Oh, how I hope you sung the title to this blog post to the tune of Marvin Gaye’s epic hit from the 70’s!!

So much going on in my life right now.  Fasting, new experiences, planning a new year, etc.

God is using experiences (some painful) to teach me about judging, accepting, loving…you know, some basic do’s and don’t’s of how to be a person.  As soon as things solidify in my mind, I’ll dedicate a post about it.  It’s all still forming. Verses I’m meditating on– Mark 7:8-9, Gal 5:14, Col 2:22, 23 in case you want to try to anticipate me.

I’m a week into my 2nd Whole30 (or maybe more like a Whole21).  I do a 21 day fast at the beginning of every year with staff at the church where I work.   I decided to fast sugar, legumes, grains, and dairy…essentially the Whole30.   Of course, the emphasis this time will be on the spiritual, not the physical.   It’s been MUCH easier this time–partially because I’m surrounded by people that are also fasting and partially because my body is functioning much better and I’ve kicked the sugar and bread addiction. No weird dreams or detox symptoms like before.

In other big news, my family is hosting 2 exchange students from Korea this month!  This is a first for us!   They are here as part of a language program with other kids from their school, we have two 15 year old girls who are very sweet.   They’ve only been here for 2 full days and nights so we still really aren’t past the awkward stage and they haven’t quite gotten past the jet lag.   Today I taught them how to pour cereal out of a box.  It’s gonna be an interesting month.  haha!

One response to this post.

  1. How exciting! Do they speak English? My friend Heather had a Chinese foreign exchange student last year and said he was so nice, but she had to take him to a specialty market to get him food that he recognized and that didn’t make him sick.

Leave a Reply

