Ya Can’t Please Everyone

Isn’t that the truth?  Sometimes I feel like I can’t please anyone.  Galatians 1:10 says  Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.  I really don’t think I’m a people pleaser, but daily I feel like I let someone down and it bothers me, so maybe I am.  But, really, I don’t think I live for the approval of people…but I do like it.  Who doesn’t?

When I read Acts 14, Paul and Barnabas were speaking in the synagogue and a “great number of Jews and Greeks believed”.  But at the same time, another group of people was stirring up trouble.  Of course, they didn’t stop sharing the truth because some people didn’t like it, they just went on preaching boldly and then went somewhere else.

Maybe because they were confident in what they were doing it made it easier for them to go on preaching.  and maybe I’m not always confident…for example, I know I don’t always say the right things, or if I do say the right thing, I don’t say it the right way or at the right time.   Yeah, I must have voices in my life telling me what I’ve done wrong….well, hey, at least they are honest and share how they feel–it’s better than not, I suppose.

and I wish I could blog more like my cousin and just say what I’m trying to say instead of dancing around topics and speaking in generalities.  But I’m always afraid my “feelings” will offend someone, so I don’t say just what I mean.   There I go again, people pleasing.

 

Leave a Reply

