Pray

I really want to be a prayer. Pray-er.  A person who prays.  Prayer is a spiritual discipline that I’ve always had trouble making a regular part of every day. I pray sometimes, “popcorn” prayers, and half prayers (interrupted, never finished).  And really, who is praying for my husband, kids, and extended family if I’m not?!  Nobody?!  That thought makes me more than sad…it scares me.

And not just for what I can GET from praying…I really want to crave the presence of God and intimate conversation with Him.  But, I do want to realize the POWER of prayer and I want it to affect my life and the people I love.  Not just wishing and hoping for more.  I have my own acronym for praying. C.A.R.I. and now I have a journal just for prayer. It is covered front and back with verses about prayer, quotes about prayer, reasons to pray, and colored post-it note tabs for different people. I hope it’ll help make it easier to pray intentionally and regularly.

journal

Now I’m just trying to figure out how to give God the first of my day. “I rise early before the sun is up, I cry out for help and put my hope in your words.” Ps 119.147  Every day.  To pray continually. To pray without distraction. To sit and listen.  To converse with the God of the universe and tell him the desires of my heart.   “Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  Ps 37:4

Do I sit somewhere specific and JUST pray (instead of multi-tasking).  Do it before my morning shower?  After?  I’m trying to start small.  5 minutes.  and easy…just read the prayers I’ve written and add what comes to mind.  I gotta start somewhere.

One response to this post.

  1. Umm. Abbey and Christy pray for you and your chillens DAILY! Love you!

Leave a Reply

